Over 152 Years of Service to the Furniture Industry
 Furniture World Logo

Finalists Chosen For ASFD 2007 Pinnacle Awards

Furniture World News


Sixty finalists have been chosen in the 2007 12th Annual ASFD Pinnacle Design Achievement Awards competition, representing 4 finalists in each of the 15 categories. The Pinnacle judges convened for a full day on August 7 at High Point University's "Norton Hall". The 2007 participating Judges panel included Dr. Richard Bennington, High Point University; Clint Engel, Furniture/Today; Leslie Fishbein, Kacey Fine Furniture, Denver; Ellen Gefen, Industry Update Home Fashion Report; Francel Goude, RFG-Global Design Group; Jackie Hirschhaut, AHFA; Sheila Long O'Mara, Home Furnishings Business; Max Shangle, Kendall College of Art & Design; Julie Smith, Furniture Style and its supplements; Steve Walker , NC State/Furniture Manufacturing and Management Center; and Rhonda Wolf, Havertys, Atlanta. The 2007 Pinnacle Awards sponsors include Appalachian Hardwood Manufacturers, Elmo Leather, Furniture Style, Hafele America Co., Hickory Springs Mfg., High Point Market Authority, Home Furnishings Business, Home Lighting & Accessories, International Home Furnishings Center, Leggett & Platt, Merchandise Mart Properties, Inc., SHOWPLACE, Weyerhaeuser and World Market Center Las Vegas. Furniture/Today serves as the Major Underwriter of the 2007 Pinnacle Awards. Editor in chief, Ray Allegrezza will serve as emcee at the Awards banquet to be held at the IHFC on Monday evening, October 1 during the High Point market. At that time, all finalists will be recognized and the winners announced by a team of distinquished industry retail executives. ASFD members, sponsors and Pinnacle finalists will receive invitations/registration information by mail. Advance registrations will be $75.00 per person. (There will be limited seating tickets available at the door at $90.00 per person.) For further Pinnacle Awards banquet or other information, contact Christine Evans, ASFD at info@asfd.com or call (910) 576-1273. 2007 Pinnacle Finalists (product name, designer, manufacturer) Occasional Tables: Chris Stacking Trays - Alexa Hampton - Hickory Chair Medley - Ron Watson - Riverside Furniture Corp. Wilshire Blvd. - Berry & Clark Design Associates - Bernhardt Furniture Winston - John Kolkka, ASFD - Charleston Forge Occasional Storage: Family Communication Centers - Valerie Schmieder - Sligh Furniture Co. Hunterbrook Server/Plate Rack - Barbara Kurgan, Jonsara Ruth, ASFD; Lisa Yoneno - Bernhardt Furniture Limbert Bar - Ron Cosser - Harden Furniture Metropolitan Bar Cabinet - Troy Hollis - Lexington Home Brands Juvenile Furniture: Hang Time & Free Time - Abigail Eaton, ASFD & Dudley Moore, Jr., ASFD - Lea Industries, Hide & Sleep - James Jannetides - University Loft Co. Max - Michael Payne, Jeffry Blaesing - Powell Company myHaven - Michael Warren, ASFD & Shannon Lookabill - tanley Furniture Casual Dining: Custom Dining Collection - William Faber - Century Furniture Hudson - John Kolkka, ASFD - Charleston Forge Nautica Harrison Collection - Troy Hollis - Lexington Home Brands Ringo - Deanna Miller, ASFD - John Charles Designs Formal Dining: Christiansen - Alexa Hampton - Hickory Chair Lugano Collection - Stanley Jay Friedman - Bellini Imports Newhouse Dining Group - Tom Newhouse - Harden Furniture Wilshire Blvd. - Berry & Clark Design Associates - Bernhardt Furniture Motion Upholstery: Clever Recliner & Ottoman - Michael Shields - American Leather Doheny - Michael F. Galardo, John Contreras - Elite Leather Co. Le Mans - Jack Lewis, ASFD & Gary Vander Wood, ASFD - Barcalounger Octavia - Bud Caywood, ASFD - La-Z-Boy, Inc. Stationary Upholstery: Calloway - Michael Smith, ASFD Flexsteel Industries Hayden - Debra Halsey-Strother - Vanguard Furniture John-Paul Sofa - Nancy Genova, ASFD - John Charles Designs Manhattan Lounge Chair - Fernando Villarin - David Francis Furniture Leather Upholstery: Arclounge - Rick Lee - American Leather Clark - Lulu de Kwiatkowski - Elite Leather Co. MOOD - Normand Couture - Couture International Velero - Vladimir Kagan, ASFD - American Leather Accessories: Cross Wall Panels - Jill Rosenwald - The Phillips Collection Curves Ahead - Pia Cyrulnik, ASFD - The Contemporary Couch Prescott Park & Sun Kissed - Christine Chapin, Jody Nebesnik, Valerie Suprenant - Company C, Inc Natural Grounds - Christine Chapin, Erin Desrosiers, Valerie Suprenant - Company C, Inc Lighting: Intersections - Charles Camacho, ASFD; & David Martin, ASFD; George Chandler, ASFD - Hubbardton Forge Optica - Ian Fowler - Decorative Crafts Ribbon Floor Lamp - Allan H. Palecek - PALECEK Stage Floor Lamp - Ian Fowler - Visual Comfort, Inc. Home Office: Alante' - Joe McCambridge, ASFD - Sligh Furniture Co. Family Communication Centers - Mike Warren, ASFD & Shannon Lookabill - Sligh Furniture Co. Kingsland Chinoisene Secretary - Barbara Kurgan, Jonsara Ruth, ASFD; Lisa Yoneno - Bernhardt Furniture Liv360 - Andy Nielsen, Ken Levi - Aspenhome Entertainment Centers/Home Theater: Barolo - Andy Nielsen, Ken Levi, Jena Hall, ASFD - Aspenhome Medley - Ron Watson - Riverside Furniture Corp. Mirabel - Haywood West - Hooker Furniture Corp. Nautica Harrison - Troy Hollis - Lexington Home Brands Summer/Casual: Coventry - Frederic C. Doughty, ASFD - Agio International Dune Daybed & Ottoman - Vladimir Kagan, ASFD - Barlow Tyrie, Inc. Fifty-Five Chaise Lounge - Mark Singer, ASFD - GIATI Designs, Inc. Kyoto Collection - Richard Frinier, ASFD - Century Furniture Bedroom: Belle Noir Collection - Jorge Jaramillo & Margaret Leigh - Zocalo Medley - Ron Watson - Riverside Furniture Corp. Nautica Harrison Collection - Troy Hollis - Lexington Home Brands Stonewater - Tim Annas, ASFD - Kincaid Furniture Major Collections: Better Homes and Gardens - Berry & Clark Design Associates - Universal Furniture New Traditional - William Faber - Century Furniture Simply Modern - Blake Tovin - Casana Furniture Co. Walt Disney Signature - Mike Black, Michelle Cushman, Steve Worthman - Drexel Heritage