Over 152 Years of Service to the Furniture Industry
 Furniture World Logo

2007 Annual ASFD Pinnacle™ Awards Entries Available

Furniture World News


The American Society of Furniture Designers (ASFD) is accepting applications for its 2007 Pinnacle Design Achievement Awards which honor outstanding design in home furnishings by recognizing the responsible talented and creative furniture designers. Steve Hodges, President, Steve Hodges Associates Inc. and ASFD Vice President/President-Elect, is chairman of the competition, now in its twelth year. "After a record number of entries submitted in 2006, we look forward to our biggest and most successful awards competition in the Pinnacles' history in 2007", says Hodges. Entries must be submitted by August 1. For the second year, Furniture/Today serves as the major underwriter of the Pinnacle Awards and will team with ASFD in planning the gala to celebrate the finalists and winners set for High Point on October 1, the opening day of the High Point Market. Ray Allegrezza, Furniture/Today editor in chief will be master of ceremonies at the awards banquet. Other 2007 Pinnacle sponsors are the Appalachian Hardwood Manufacturers, Elmo Leather, Furniture Style, Hafele America Co., Hickory Springs Mfg., High Point Market Authority, Home Furnishings Business, Home Lighting & Accessories, International Home Furnishings Center, Leggett & Platt, Merchandise Mart Properties, SHOWPLACE, Weyerhaeuser and World Market Center Las Vegas. This year's Pinnacle judges, who will convene for a full day in early August, include Dr. Richard Bennington, Professor of Business and Director of the Home Furnishings Program, High Point University; Leslie Fishbein, President, Kacey Fine Furniture, Denver; Ellen Gefen, Co-owner, Gefen Productions and Host of Industry Update Home Fashion Report; Francel Goude, Founder, RFG Global Design Group; Jaclyn Hirschhaut, Vice President, Public Relations & Marketing, American Home Furnishings Alliance; Dr. Thelma Lazo-Flores, Chair, Furniture Design Department, Savannah College of Art & Design; Sheila Long O'Mara, Editor in Chief, Home Furnishings Business; Dan Minor, General Manager, Boyles Furniture, Conover, NC; Julie Smith, Editor, Furniture Style, Home Fashion Forecast and The Retail Experience; Max Shangle, Chair, Furniture Design Department, Kendall College of Art & Design; Steve Walker, Furniture Manufacturing & Management Center, NC State University and Rhonda Wolf, Assistant Vice President, Merchandising, Havertys Furniture, Atlanta. Information about the 15 entry categories, eligibility criteria, entry requirements and the entry form are available online at www.asfdpinnacle.com/downloads. For more information, or to receive a free 2007 Pinnacle poster/entry kit, contact Christine Evans, ASFD executive director at info@asfd.com or call 910.576.1273.