Over 148 Years of Service to the Furniture Industry

 Furniture World Logo

American Home Furnishings Hall of Fame Foundation Announces New History Initiative: The Heritage Project

Furniture World News


The Heritage Project was funded through a generous grant from Heritage Home Group Charitable Trust.

The American Home Furnishings Hall of Fame Foundation recently announced the Heritage Project, funded through a generous grant from Heritage Home Group Charitable Trust.

“It is with great pleasure that we announce that the Heritage Home Group Charitable Trust is making a donation of $20,000 to support the mission of the Hall of Fame,” says Pierre de Villemejane, president and CEO of Heritage Home Group. “When the Hall of Fame told us about their plans to kick off a new initiative to capture the history of our industry and the many individuals who have shaped it, we recognized its value and the significance for future generations. We quickly decided we wanted to play a leading role in its launch.”

With this grant, professional interviews will be conducted with workers within the home furnishings industry, thereby grasping the significant roles they played, their stories and their expertise through the years. The Heritage Project will launch with interviews that will include workers from some of Heritage Home Group’s distinctive brands which include Hickory Chair, Pearson, Henredon, Maitland-Smith, Lane Venture, Drexel, Thomasville, Broyhill and Lane. Each year companies will be invited to submit names of individuals whose efforts have helped shape their company and industry.

”The Heritage Project is extremely exciting for the Hall of Fame because we will be able to preserve these stories before they are gone forever,” says Bob Maricich, Board president of the Hall of Fame. “Combined with the photography produced from this endeavor, these stories are certain to strengthen the preservation of our stories in a celebration of our joint history.”

The initiative was formally announced at the Oct. 15 Induction Celebration, which was held at the Sheraton Greensboro Four Seasons, that marked the formal induction of four industry leaders into the American Home Furnishings Hall of Fame. Joining the current 108 Hall of Fame members are Donald H. Flanders Sr., Lloyd Flanders, Inc.; Bernard D. Moray, Gorman’s Home Furnishings & Interior Design; Samuel Kuo, Samson Holding International; Vladimir Kagan, The Vladimir Kagan Design Group.

The Hall of Fame is supported by sponsors of the 2017 Induction Celebration:

  • Leadership Speaker Sponsor: Ashley Furniture Industries
  • Celebration and After Party Sponsor: Samson Holding Ltd.
  • Dinner Table Sponsor: Nourison Industries
  • Inductee Video Sponsor: Surya
  • Celebration Sponsors: Markor International Home Furnishings and International Market Centers
  • Entertainment Sponsor: Glen Raven / Sunbrella
  • Leadership Video Sponsor: kathy ireland Worldwide
  • Heritage Project Sponsor: Heritage Home Group
  • Cocktail Sponsor: Restonic Mattress Company
  • Platinum Sponsors: AICO/Amini Innovation Corp.; Art Van Furniture; Berkshire Hathaway Furniture Companies; Christopher Guy; FurnitureDealer.Net; Global Views; La-Z-Boy, Inc.; Leggett & Platt, Inc.; Loloi Rugs; Man Wah Holdings; Mohawk Home; Natuzzi; Palliser Furniture; Prestige Arts; and Wayfair
  • Gold Sponsors: AkzoNobel; Baer’s Furniture; Culp, Inc.; Fairmont Designs; FEI Marketing; Hooker Furniture; Klaussner Furniture; L. & J. G. Stickley; MicroD; Raymour & Flanigan; Richloom Fabrics Group; Rowe Furniture; Safavieh Rugs; Tempur Sealy; and Zenith Global Logistics
  • Silver Sponsors: A.L.F.; American Leather; Bassett Furniture Industries; Best Home Furnishings; Broyhill Family Foundation, Inc.; Castro Convertibles; City Furniture; City of Hope; Cory 1st Choice Home Delivery; Customatic Adjustable Bedz; El Dorado Furniture; Emerald Home Furnishings; Flexsteel Industries, Inc.; Franklin Corporation; Furnitureland South; Genesis Financial Solutions, Inc.; Grand Home Furnishings; Haverty Furniture Company; Hickory Furniture Mart; Hickory Springs Manufacturing; Home Inspirations Thomasville; Karen E. McNeill; Lexington Home Brands; Malouf Sleep; Netsertive; Phillips Collection; Rooms to Go; Serta Restokraft Mattress Company; Vanguard Furniture; Vaughan-Bassett Furniture Company; Whereoware; and Wolf Furniture/AFC.

More about the AHFA: The American Home Furnishings Hall of Fame Foundation, Inc. is an international, industry-wide organization founded to preserve the history of the home furnishings industry and to celebrate exceptional individuals who have made extraordinary contributions to the U.S. home furnishings industry. Membership includes eligibility to nominate candidates for consideration by the Selection Committee, and the opportunity to help preserve the history and heritage of the industry. As a 501(c)3 nonprofit organization, 83 percent of all funds support our history and leadership programming. The organization is based in High Point, North Carolina, at 202 Neal Place, and can be reached at 336.882.5900.


Furniture Industry News and in depth magazine articles for the furniture retail, furniture manufacturers, and furniture distributors.
Read other articles by Nic Ledoux