Over 152 Years of Service to the Furniture Industry
 Furniture World Logo

2007 ASFD Design Contest Award Winners Announced

Furniture World News


The American Society of Furniture Designers presented their annual 2007 David Kline Memorial Scholarship contest winners this week during the High Point Spring Market dinner held at the High Point Country Club. Hafele America Co., a supplier of functional and decorative cabinet, furniture and architectural builders hardware co-sponsored the contest. Contest application kits were sent to colleges across the Country whereas design students were asked to design a piece of furniture utilizing Hafele’s Tab A Honeycomb Connector. Philip Martin, Hafele's Senior Manager, Business Development made the formal presentation to the top winners. Martin said "Hafele is pleased to sponsor and support this Annual contest which is focused toward furniture design students. We were delighted with the number of entries and creative designs the students presented using light weight panels and Hafele's honey comb connector." The First Place Award of $3,500 went to Diane McCabe, a Senior at Kendall College of Art & Design in Grand Rapids, MI for her "Platform" bed. The judges noted that Diane showed a good understanding of the design process which was expressed in a well defined product idea for the described target market. Fiona Dickenson, a Senior at Savannah College of Art & Design in Savannah, GA received the $1,000 Second Place Award for “The Passage”, a wall-mounted, sleek entry-way cabinet. The Judges felt it was a well-crafted presentation, reflecting a very appealing creative passion and good research. Thor Taber, a Junior at Kendall College of Art & Design received a $500 Honorable Mention Award for his "Manchester", a free standing closet system/media center intended for the contemporary loft market. The Judges indicated that a well rounded approach was given and that his design showed a very good grasp of space and presentation having very nice visual appeal. The Judges for the Contest included Hafele's Philip Martin; Philip Behrens, ASFD, President of Natura Design; Gray Pennell, Merchandising Director, Furnitureland South; Lori Reed, Director Corporate Fashion, Century Furniture; and Rick Hargrove, Associate Professor Marketing, Home Furnishings Programs, High Point University. The ASFD annual scholarship contest was named in honor of the late David Kline, who was a West Coast designer and former ASFD president during the late nineties. Hafele America Co. is a Corporate Member of ASFD and this is the fourth consecutive year of their scholarship co-sponsorship.