Over 152 Years of Service to the Furniture Industry
 Furniture World Logo

Fourth Annual Furniture Industry Awards Gala Planned

Furniture World News


The International Home Furnishings Representatives Association and the National Home Furnishings Association proudly announce the Fourth Annual Furniture Industry Awards Gala to be held Thursday, April 23, 1998. This year's gala, a joint event by representatives and retailers, will honor three industry standouts for their service to the furniture community. The Retailer of the Year Award, given by NHFA, will be presented to Art Van Eslander, of Art Van Furniture, Warren, Michigan. The Pillar of the Industry, an award given to a person who has contributed of their time and talents, will be presented to W.W. "Jerry" Epperson, founding partner of the Richmond firm, Mann, Armistead, and Epperson. Given since 1975, the award honors an industry leader who has significantly improved relationships within the home furnishings industry. The Harold Braun Distinguished Service Award, the highest honor a representative can receive from IHFRA, will be given to Andrew D. Gillies, CHR, President of Wynwood Furniture, and former IHFRA President. This award has been given annually for the last 23 years in honor of past president Harold P. Braun, a founding father of the association. The Awards will be presented on April 23, with cocktails beginning at 6 pm in the IHFC Ballroom, 11th Floor, Green Wing. Dinner will begin at 7 pm to be followed by an awards ceremony. To obtain tickets, or for more information, contact IHFRA at (336) 889-3920 or NHFA at (336) 883-1650. E-mail:  ihfra@aol.com