Over 151 Years of Service to the Furniture Industry

 Furniture World Logo

Tommy Leflein Gets Meadoff Award For Sportsmanship

Furniture World News


Pictured (l-r): Chris De Lisa, Tommy Leflein and Jordan Greenberg

The Greater Metropolitan Home Furnishings Association (GMFA) announced that Tommy Leflein, Vice President Sales of Nourison was presented with the Meadoff Award For Sportsmanship, during GMFA’s annual golf outing.

GMFA’s golf outing benefits the Dean Michael Clarizio Cancer Foundation (dmccf.com), that helps cancer victims and their families meet living expenses. Chris Clarizio of Klaussner presented presented $20,000 from DMCCF to four families at this  year's outing. 

The Meadoff Award was presented by Jordan Greenberg, President of Apropos who explained the history and significance of the Award. Former Meadoff Award winner Chris DeLisa of Universal Furniture introduced Leflein, speaking about how he has assisted countless reps and retailers through his words, actions, and financial support, helping them get through difficult times.

Initiated by the late Hal Meadoff in honor of his father A.S. Meadoff in 1942, the award has been continued by Hal's family. Sportsmanship, as defined by this award, does not signify skill or performance. It has to do with a person's sense of fair play and fair-mindedness. Personal relationships in the industry, social consciousness and support of humane and philanthropic causes are attributes carefully considered by the awards committee. Former recipients meet each year to review and choose an individual to receive this honor.

“I don’t know anyone who gives more of his personal time and energy and is more empathetic and charitable than Tommy Leflein,” said Andy Gans, GMFA’s President. “People like him are rare, and the Meadoff Award is the perfect acknowledgement of the way he lives his life.”

Leflein is currently serving as Chairman of Tri State HFA, Vice President of the International Home Furnishings Association and Vice President of GMFA. He’s been awarded the Charles B. Costar Dean of IHFA Award and GFMA’s Howard Liveright Memorial Award. He is also veteran in sales and management, working for companies including Pennsylvania House, Rowe, Benchcraft/ Berkline, Lifestyle California and Lexington Home Brands. He is an active member of the Golden Slipper Club and Charity of Philadelphia and a professional photographer.

The Meadoff Memorial Award for Sportsmanship is one of the most coveted Awards in our Industry, since it is the "person" not a position or title being recognized.

Former recipients include:
  • 1942- Sam Shapiro
  • 1943- Harry Michaels
  • 1944- Charles Seidenman
  • 1945- Arthur Stengel
  • 1946- Sol Edelman
  • 1947- Jess Shlivek
  • 1948- Fred Daum
  • 1949- Jack Melniker
  • 1950- Louis Ferraguzzi
  • 1951- Irving Sherman
  • 1952- John Jaffin
  • 1953- Carl Bryant
  • 1954- Irv Baldinger
  • 1955- Ed Morrisey
  • 1956- Sam Handel
  • 1957- Henry Shaeffer
  • 1958- Sam Reiner
  • 1959- Charles Shaughnessey
  • 1960- William Sachs
  • 1961- Joe Fontana
  • 1962- Herb Kimless
  • 1963- Ed Frank
  • 1964- Sandy Bienenstock
  • 1965- Sam Faeder
  • 1966- Walter Engel
  • 1967- Sol Gerwin
  • 1968- Frank Katz
  • 1969- Bill Floegel
  • 1970- Billy Martin
  • 1971- Nat Ancell
  • 1972- Jack Siegel
  • 1973- Burt Pordes
  • 1974- Bob Stengel
  • 1975- Richard Sachs
  • 1976- Harry Krosner
  • 1977- Morris Muster
  • 1978- Sam Schwat
  • 1979- Milton Goodman
  • 1980- Mike Massood
  • 1981- Frank O'Connor
  • 1982- Stanley Rosenberg
  • 1983- Hal Meadoff
  • 1984- Lee Corson
  • 1985- Harvey Gleberman
  • 1986- Norman Waxman
  • 1987- Barton Bienenstock
  • 1988- Lou Nagelsmith
  • 1990- David Druckman
  • 1992- Russell Bienenstock
  • 1993- George Massood
  • 1994- Gary Zuckerman
  • 1995- Marty Herman
  • 1996- Joe Cory
  • 1998- Jim Druckman
  • 1999- Gail Meadoff
  • 2000- Andy Gans
  • 2001- Arthur Koch
  • 2002- Mickey Talkov
  • 2003- Seymour Fineman
  • 2004- Louis Massood
  • 2005- Keith Seigerman
  • 2006- David Goldstein
  • 2007- Harris Kirsch
  • 2008- Jordan Greenberg
  • 2009 - Patrick Cory
  • 2010- Chris DeLisa
  • 2011- Tony Bellarosa
  • 2012- Chris Clarizio
  • 2013-Mike Fischer
  • 2014-Edward Massood
  • 2015-Tommy Leflein

About GMFA: The Greater Metropolitan Furnishings Association, a not-for-profit organization, was formed to promote and protect the interests of home furnishings retailers, reps, manufacturers, wholesalers and industry suppliers in the states of New York, New Jersey and Connecticut. Together with the IHFRA, the GMFA sponsors networking and educational events, offers group services such health insurance, credit card processing, and provides business discounts for members. For more information contact Alan Granetz, Greater Metropolitan Furnishings Association at (908) 725-3460 or email greatermfa@gmail.com.

About The Dean Michael Clarizio Cancer Foundation: The Dean Michael Clarizio Cancer Foundation was founded by its namesake, Dean Michael Clarizio during his own personal battle with cancer. The foundation is tirelessly maintained by his family and friends in an effort to carry out his vision... the vision of helping others who face the challenges of cancer. The foundation is operated by volunteers and is funded with donations by generous people. For more information about the DMCCF or to make a donation visit http://www.dmccf.com

Furniture Industry News and in depth magazine articles for the furniture retail, furniture manufacturers, and furniture distributors.
Read other articles by Furniture World Magazine