Over 141 Years of Service to the Furniture Industry
Follow Us on Twitter  Follow Us on Twitter HyperLink RSS Feed Email Us  Login
  • ashley 07609
  • Storis 0713
  • Miff 2015 furninfo.com
  • Benchcraft 0714
  • canada show 1014
  • OSMOB 2015
  • Surya posted 11.12.14
  • Mexico1214

Finalists Selected For ASFD 2012 Pinnacle™ Awards

Furniture Industry News Update - Furniture World Magazine

Share Page With a Friend  
The Pinnacle judges met recently at High Point University's Norton Hall to select the finalists for the 17th Annual ASFD Pinnacle™Awards.

The judging panel included Dr. Richard Bennington, High Point University; Mary Brehm, Norwalk Furniture & Design, Raleigh, NC; Jenny Heinzen York, Home Accents Today; Jackie Hirschhaut, American Home Furnishings Alliance (AHFA); Bruce Mulder, Kendall College of Art & Design; Powell Slaughter, Home Furnishings Business; Connie Post, Affordable Design Solutions; Dianne Ray, Garden City Furniture, SC; Becky Warner, Louis Shanks Furniture, Austin, TX; Jason Wech, Savannah College of Art & Design; John Wingo, Green Front Furniture, Farmville, VA; and Rhonda Wolf, Havertys Furniture, Atlanta, GA.

"It gives me tremendous gratification to see so many talented designers and companies call attention to the work they do", says veteran Pinnacle judge Jackie Hirschhaut, vice president public relations and marketing, AHFA.

New to the panel, Green Front Furniture general manager, John Wingo said "I was humbled by being asked to serve as a Pinnacle judge and honored by seeing new and exciting designs."

"The Pinnacle Awards both honor and recognize creative, relevant and original designs in home furnishings that push our industry to the next level. I congratulate the finalists and thank our terrific panel of judges for their hard work in this process," says John Conrad, ASFD vice president and 2012 Pinnacle Awards chairman.

Furniture/Today is the major underwriter of the Pinnacle™ Awards. The sponsors include AF Lighting, Continental Hardware, enLIGHTenment, Furniture Design Studios, Hafele America Co., Hickory Springs Mfg., High Point Market Authority, Home Furnishings Business, International Market Centers (IMC), Leggett & Platt Inc. and The Sherwin-Williams Co.

Winners will be announced at the Awards banquet during High Point Market on Monday night, October 15 at the IHFC. For more information and event tickets, contact Christine Evans, executive director, ASFD: E. info@asfd.com; T. (910) 576-1273.

2012 Pinnacle Finalists

Occasional Tables:

Fredrick Delafield for Bassett Mirror

Avalon Heights
Richard Schroeder, ASFD; Denis Kissane, ASFD; Gary Hokanson for Stanley Furniture

Petrified Wood Waterfall
Andrew Palecek for Palecek

Occasional Storage:

Holloway End Table
Shaun Melvin, ASFD for Baker Furniture/Kohler Interiors Group

Le Papillion Chest
Cindy Hall, Erica Wingo for Hooker Furniture Corp.

Trinity Sideboard
Megan Perry for Dorya

Youth Furniture:

Taylor West for Hooker Furniture Corp.

Charles Harris for Legacy Classic Kids

Twin Loft Bed
Derek West for Lea Furniture

Casual Dining:

Richard Schroeder, ASFD; Denis Kissane, ASFD; Gary Hokanson for Stanley Furniture

Dudley Moore, Jr., ASFD; Stephen Giles; Lenny Chapman for Palmetto Home

Andrew Palecek for Palecek

Formal Dining: 

Down Home by Paula Deen
Otto & Moore Design for Universal Furniture

Richard Schroeder, ASFD; Denis Kissane, ASFD; Gary Hokanson for Stanley Furniture

Moultrie Park
Thomas McDaniel, ASFD; D. Scott Coley, ASFD for Bassett Furniture

Motion Upholstery:

Tom Garland for American Leather

Buck Recliner
Michael F. Garlardo, ASFD for Elite Leather Company

Kelvin Ng for Planum/KELVIN GIORMANI

Stationary Upholstery:

220 Chair
Jennifer McConnell, Bruce Ward for Pearson Company

Tina Nicole, ASFD for Nathan Anthony Furniture

Varese Sofa
Joseph Mallison, ASFD for Century Furniture

Leather Upholstery:

Hamilton Sofa
John Mascheroni for American Leather

Meridien Series
David Vanderbloemen for Century Furniture

Sean Chair
Roger Turnbow for Bernhardt Furniture


Autumn Twilight Chandelier
Danielle Elise Dzurik, John A. Fretz III for Golden Lighting

Crux Table Lamp
Shaun Melvin, ASFD for Baker Furniture/Kohler Interiors Group

Madison Manor
Sergio Orozco, ASFD for Quoizel


Gilded Lotus Wall Decor
Andrew Palecek for Palecek

Marjorelle Mirror
Cecil Adams, ASFD for Currey & Company

Maxwell Ottoman
Amaud Pacaut for American Leather

Home Office:

Richard Schroeder, ASFD; Denis Kissane, ASFD; Gary Hokanson for Stanley Furniture

E2 Class Villager
Glenn Weisgerber, ASFD for Aspenhome/Furniture Values International

Caryn Donovan for Planum/Mobil Fresno, S.L.

Home Entertainment:

Downing Street
Troy Hollis, ASFD for aspenhome/Furniture Values International

Caryn Donovan for Planum/Mobil Fresno, S.L.

Vintage Oak Homecoming
Tim Annas, ASFD for Kincaid Furniture Company


Elements Collection
Richard Frinier, ASFD; Martha Lopacki, Greg Robb for Brown Jordan

Maison Jardin
Richard Frinier, ASFD for Century Furniture

Westport Chaise
John Caldwell for Kingsley-Bate


Hilco Woudstra, ASFD for folio21 furniture

Jon Russell Koch for Schnadig International

Vintage Oak Homecoming
Tim Annas, ASFD for Kincaid Furniture

Major Collections:

Richard Schroeder, ASFD; Denis Kissane, ASFD; Gary Hokanson for Stanley Furniture

Chateau Lyon
Pride Sasser, ASFD for Century Furniture

European Market
Berry & Clark Design Associates for Drexel Heritage

Small Spaces
Thomas McDaniel, ASFD; D.Scott Coley, ASFD; Barbara Kurgan for Bassett Furniture

Green Leaf Award:

Brindille Lamp
David Kitts, ASFD; David Martin, ASFD for Hubbardton Forge

Koi Lounge Chair
David Francis for David Francis Furniture

Oil Drum Lamps
Mandy Hayden Shanahan for Phillips Collection

ABOUT ASFD: Founded in 1981, the American Society of Furniture Designers (ASFD) is dedicated to excellence, innovation, education and originality in the practice of furniture design. ASFD serves as the unified voice of the furniture design community, advocating professional practice and integrity at all times. ASFD seeks to demonstrate the value of design to the furnishings industry.

The Pinnacle™ Awards were created in April 1995 by the ASFD board of directors to promote design quality and encourage the recognition of furniture designers within the retail home furnishings industry.

Furniture World Magazine-Business solutions for furniture retailers

  • featured banner
    PFP Mazer 0413
  • featured banner
    PFP 0413 kayfurniture
  • featured banner
    PFP 0413 factorywarehouse
  • adverisement
    Tidewater 0714
  • Advertisement
  • advertisement
  • Adverisement
    Isuzu 0814

  • niwa 0814
  • advertisement
    TD Retail Financing 1214
  • advertisement
    tupelo Jan 2015
  • Advertisement
    Truckskin 0412
  • Adverisement
    RM VIP  Banner


featured cologne show
Surya Quality Video
Featured City of Hope
Take The Tour!
A Hope To Dream -Ashley
  • Get iPad App
    Ipad Furniture World App
  • Advertisement
    library 150 x200
  • Adverisement
    RM Datalink2  Banner